RSS

52 Weeks of Baking – Week 10: Book or Movie Inspired – Strawberries and Cream Pie

11 Mar

Here’s the second of the recipes I’ve chosen from Diane Mott Davidson’s Dying for Chocolate.  She calls it a Strawberry Super Pie, but my title is a bit more descriptive.  Once again I took the recipe from Life Happening and Fun on the Farm because I couldn’t find the book.

The crust is a nut shortbread, and instead of just pecans, I used a toasted almond and pecan mixture that I had leftover from making baklava.  The filling is cream cheese and whipped cream mixture that is very light tasting and goes well with the sweet strawberry topping.  I took this pie to our Wednesday night church meeting at Les and April’s house, and it was gone very quickly!

My rating: 6 out of 10.  I’m not a big strawberry fan, and this would have been much better if the strawberries were in season.  The cream cheese mixture was difficult to fold with the whipped cream, so I think I’ll “lighten” it with some of the whipped cream first next time.  Also, the whole strawberries were a bit tart, so I’ll halve them next time.

Hubby’s rating: 7.5 out of 10.  He thought the texture of the crust was funky (no one else did, so maybe he’s just weird)  He also thought the whole strawberries were a bit too tart.  So not his favorite dessert, but he did like it.

Difficulty rating: 6 out of 10.  This has multiple steps that could be messed up, from cooking the strawberry goo to whipping the cream.  Experienced cooks will find it no problem, but beginners could have a difficult time.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2012 in 52weeksofbaking, Good

 

Leave a Reply

 
