RSS

52 Weeks of Cooking – Week 9: Coffee – Molasses Coffee Marinated Pork Chops

04 Mar

 

Don’t those look like super-high quality sides?  But I digress.  The theme for this week was coffee, and I can’t imagine a worse challenge for me (excluding internal organs…gross).  I hate coffee.  I don’t like coffee ice cream or mocha or anything that anyone says, “Oh, but you can’t taste the coffee in this!”  Trust me; I can.

These pork chops were no different in that regard.  I used this recipe from Alton Brown, and I thought that maybe I’d found a recipe where I couldn’t taste the coffee.  Adam couldn’t really taste the coffee in them, but I could.  The good news is that this meal is incredibly easy, so if you don’t mind a slight coffee taste to your pork, you should try it!

This experience was another good reminder that you should always read your recipe all the way through before you commit to cooking it.  I didn’t realize until the pork chops were marinating that they were supposed to be grilled.  My grill is out of gas!  “This calls for emergency googling!” I thought.  So I found these handy-dandy directions for using your broiler to grill.  It worked quite well!

Hubby’s rating: 9 out of 10 (But then, he really likes coffee.)

My rating: 6 out of 10 (The pork chops ended up really juicy and tender, while still being fully cooked.  This is hard to do)

Difficulty rating: 3 out of 10, if you know how to operate a grill or broiler.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in 52weeksofcooking

 

Leave a Reply

 
