RSS

52 Weeks of Baking – Week 5: Breakfast – Cinnamon Chip Scones

05 Feb

When I saw that week 5 was breakfast week, I was in a bit of a quandary.  I could have just picked a new variety of muffin or something like that, but I wanted to try something that I had never made before.

Enter the scone.  I have eaten a few scones in my day, but they were always from Starbucks or a bakery or OBU’s cafeteria.  I didn’t really care for them, but I figured that fresher usually equals better, so I went searching for a scone recipe.  Following my own advice in my “I can’t cook” post, I went to Taste of Home’s website and entered “scones” in the search bar.  I sorted the results by rating, and this recipe came out on top.  I knew Adam would like these particular scones, as he has a particular love a cinnamon, so I decided to give it a go.

These were quite easy.  A tip from my kitchen: My friend April gave me the idea to grate butter instead of cutting it into little cubes in order to cut the cold butter into the flour.  It makes the process quicker and easier, especially if you don’t have a pastry blender (or if you’re too lazy to dig yours out of the drawer).  When I mixed up the dough, I realized it looked a bit dry (it should look like biscuit dough), so I added a splash more buttermilk than the recipe called for.

The scones are HUGE if you only cut the dough into 12 pieces.  I think that 16-20 pieces would be better for a proper serving size, but they are very pretty at the size the recipe calls for, so use your best judgement.

Hubby’s taste rating: 5/5 (I knew he’d like them!)

My taste rating: 4/5 (Still not my favorite breakfast item, but they were much better fresh than from Starbucks)

Difficulty rating 2.5/5 (If you’ve made biscuits from scratch successfully before, then drop the difficulty rating to 1/5.)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2012 in 52weeksofbaking, Good

 

Leave a Reply

 
