RSS

52 Weeks of Cooking – Week 5: Beer/Wine/Liquor – Zinfandel Braised Beef Roast

03 Feb

After about four and a half hours of prepping and cooking this meal, we enjoyed a deceptively juicy chuck roast with mashed potatoes and asparagus.  I used this recipe from over at Simply Recipes that I saw several weeks ago and started salivating over.  Usually roast in our house is usually a crock pot deal with onions, carrots, and potatoes, which is good, but this was better.

Some substitutions were made in the preparation of this roast.  As the recipe allowed, I substituted Cabernet Sauvignon for the Zinfandel, as Walmart had no Zinfandel other than white, and I didn’t want to make an extra stop.  Also (please forgive me), I subsituted bacon for the pancetta, as I would have had to travel at least 45 minutes to find it.  And the herbs?  Dried, not fresh.  Yet with all these substitutions, the roast was one of the best I ever had!

Hubby’s taste rating: 4.5 out of 5

My taste rating: 4 out of 5

Difficulty rating: 3.5 out of 5 – while this recipe took a long time to prepare, a lot of that time was spent waiting for roast to braise.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in 52weeksofcooking, Good

 

Leave a Reply

 
