RSS

52 Weeks of Cooking – Week 3: Soups – Fiery Roasted Garlic and Tomato Soup

18 Jan

Okay.  This one was great.  From the cheesy chiabatta bread, to the basilly, garlicky, soup, to the delightful smell that is still pervading my kitchen, this is a must-make recipe.  When I was trying to come up with something for soup week (I make a billion different kinds of soups already!), a friend of mine suggested a homemade tomato and grilled cheese.  I found this recipe on Tasty Kitchen, and knew it was the right one.

This is what the tomatoes looked like after I tossed them with the oil, vinegar, and seasonings.  I wanted to eat one right then, but restrained myself.

Here they are after roasting.  The smell in my house was so heavenly!  The garlic (the foil packet) did not get done in the time the recipe called for, and I had to cook it for an extra 15 minutes.

 

Here is the soup before I blended it…

And here it is after.  I didn’t have an immersion blender (though I would really like one), but I blended the soup in four batches in my regular blender.

Here is the Gruyere-covered chiabatta bread.  I really liked the chewy texture, but the hubby would prefer a French bread, so I’ll probably try that next time.  Also, I reduced the red pepper flakes in the recipe to 1 tsp (rather than a tbsp) and it was still very spicy.  I will probably just put a pinch in next time.  Still, it was the best tomato soup I’ve ever had.  Definitely will make this again!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2012 in 52weeksofcooking, Good

 

2 responses to “52 Weeks of Cooking – Week 3: Soups – Fiery Roasted Garlic and Tomato Soup

  1. Karin Owens

    January 19, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    Ok! This looks fantastic! And I despise tomato soup, but love stuff like this. Oh, and the bread. Mmm. Did you make the bread yourself? If no, where did you buy it? If yes, where is the recipe? LOL David loves tomato soup and grilled cheese. He would LOVE this like you wouldn’t believe.

     
    • bonniemaisen

      January 19, 2012 at 6:42 pm

      I didn’t make the bread, though I would love to learn how to do a good chiabotta! I bought this at the Walmart bakery. They were originally designed to be chiabotta sandwich rolls, but I just split them in half and put the olive oil and cheese on them. I highly suggest limiting the red pepper flake, as it was overwhelming even with just 1 teaspoon. I’ll just do a pinch next time.

       

Leave a Reply

 
